Some Vaisnava calendar vocabulary

I was asked to clarify some of calendar vocabulary. Here is something to start:

Tithi = day

Paksa = fortnight. Two paksas form a lunar month

Krishna Paksha = The dark lunar fortnight or waning moon. It’ the period of 15 days beginning on the full moon day (Purnima) and culminating on new moon day (Amavasya).

Shukla Paksha = the period beginning with a new moon (Amavasya) and ending in a full moon (purnima).

Naksatra = the point when the moon is situated in any given moment. There are 27 Naksatra in a month

Yoga = each one of the 27 division based on the ecliptic longitude of the Sun and the Moon.

Vasara = Ravi, Soma, Mangala, Budha, Guru, Sukra and Sani, respectively meaning, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday etc.

Parana = time for breaking Ekadasi fasting

Pratipat, Dvitiya, Tritiya etc up to Caturdasi, meaning one, two, three etc up to fourteen.

Sankranti = the position of the Sun respect to the various zones, or areas (zodiac), of the ecliptic.

Masa = Month

Gaurabda = age of Caitanya Mahaprabhu.

Amavasya = new moon

Purnina = full moon


I hope this calendar ABC was of some clarification.


– Manonatha Dasa (ACBSP)
27 nov 2018


To know always more on everything subscribe to Isvara Archive

Post view 995 times

Notify of
0 Adds or Replies
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments