Some information on Manu, the progenitor of mankind

posted in: DB, English, NB 0

At the beginning of creation Brahma build the universe utilizing Lord Visnu’s material energy and then thought how to manage the universal affairs. So he gave birth to various Devas with different tasks.

One of these is called Manu and has two tasks: populating the Earth and promulgating laws for the Manusya, the inhabitants of the Earth (see Manu Samhita).

The Manu is not always the same but it changes. Every day of Brahma there are 14 Manus, who thus live for 71 Maha-yugas and 306,720,000 million earth years.

This is the list of the 14 Manus of this day of Brahma:

1. Svayambhuva
2. Svarocisha
3. Uttama
4. Tamasa
5. Raivata
6. Cakshusha
7. Vaivasvata
8. Savarni
9. Dakshasavarni
10. Brahmasavarni
11. Dharmasavarni
12. Rudrasavarni
13. Devasavarni
14. Indrasavarni

According to the Puranas we are in 28th Maha-yuga of the Vaivasvata Manu, the 7th.

Vaivasvata Manu is so called because he is Vivasvan son and he was born around 120,000,000 years ago. In the Bhagavad-gita Srila Prabhupada confirms this figure saying that the Bhagavad-gita was spoken by the Sun God to Iksvaku at the beginning of this Manvantara.

The 28th Maha-yuga of the 7th Manu is particularly blessed because at the end of Dvapara-yuaga Sri Krishna appears and not much after Lord Caitanya Mahaprabhu.

If you have any other questions please ask.


– Manonatha Dasa (ACBSP)

Post view 270 times

Notify of
0 Adds or Replies
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments