Veda: the four original Vedas

posted in: English 0

The four Vedas are:
Rig Veda, which was revealed to Agni
Yajur Veda, which was revealed to Vayu
Sama Veda, which was revealed to Aditya
Atharva Veda, which was revealed to Angira.

They are also called Sruti and Samhitas and deal with a large number of sciences.


The Rig Veda contains a vast knowledge of physical, metaphysical and spiritual nature. It is the greatest amongst the Vedas in terms of content. It contains

10 mandala,
1028 Suktas and10581 Rik Mantra.
The Rig Veda has been translated by various schools in various languages.


The Yajur Veda deals with a number of topics and in particular the conduct in order to reach Moksha, the ultimate goal of life.
It contains:
40 Adhyaya, and
1975 Yaju Mantra.


The Sama Veda deals mainly with that knowledge and activity with which the soul of the human being is lifted from the cycle of life and death. It is dedicated to the worship of the Supreme Lord, the manifestation of his powers and the way of disciplines for spiritual advancement.
Amongst the Vedas, Sama is the shortest in terms of numbers of the Mantras.
It contains two chapters, Purvacika and Uttaracika, and 1874 Mantra in total.


The Atharva Veda deals with the knowledge of a number of sciences.
It has 20 Kandas,
111 Anuvaka,
731 Sukta, and
5977 Mantra.


Division di ciascun #Veda:
Samhita, Brahmana, Aranyaka and Upanisad


Much more to come.


Post view 65 times from March 2020

Subscribe Notify
0 Adds or Replies
Inline Feedbacks
View all Add or Reply