Svamsa and Vibhinnamsa


Lord Sri Krishna has many forms. Two are most important:

The first is called Svayam-rupa, that is the original eternal form in Vrindavana

The second is called Tad-ekatma-rupa, that are forms resembling the Svayam-rupa, but have some differences in the bodily features.

The Tad-ekatma-rupa divides in two:
1. Svamsa, that are His personal expansion, and
2. Vilasa, the pastime expansion.

The Svamsas therefore are Lord Krishna’s personal expansions much similar to the original form but with some bodily differences, like Lord Balarama.


About the Vibhinnamsa, Srila Prabhupada explained who they are during a lecture on the Srimad-Bhagavatam 1.1.1 given in Caracas, Venezuela, on February 21, 1975.

“By His personal incarnation He expands as Rāma, Nṛsiṁha, Varāha, Vāmana and so many, thousands. That is His personal expansion. Here is Lord Caitanya, Nityānanda. They are also personal expansion. So that is one type of expansion.
Another type, expansion, is the vibhinnāṁśa, just like we are. We are also expansion of God. But this is… Vibhinnāṁśa means a smallest particle. Just like the sunshine. The sunshine is combination of bright molecules. So very small parts, bright, brightened part, combined together, that is called sunshine. So we living entities, we are also small bright particles as part and parcel of God. In this way God is expanded everywhere. The Māyāvādī, impersonalists, they think “If God is expanded everywhere, then where is God personally?”

Therefore the vibhinnamsa are the jivas. Sri Krishna can give special power to any such a living entities, in which case they are called avesa-rupa or saktyavesa-avatara.


– Manonatha Dasa (ACBSP)
16 jan 2020



#Vibhinnamsa     #Svayam-rupa       #Tad-ekatma-rupa     #Svamsa   #Vilasa     #avesa-rupa. 

Post view 232 times from March 2020

Subscribe Notify
0 Adds or Replies
Inline Feedbacks
View all Add or Reply